new

old

guest-book

e-mail

diaryland

04.17.2004-11:22 pm

Wesley Oliver White born on 4/13/2004 at 1:18 AM.

Most of us know that I have been in and out of the hospital throughout this pregnancy. I have lost complete count of how many times for many different reasons, low fluid, bleeding, fevers, no fetal movement, contractions, you name it I was there for it. I had a doctors appointment Wed. on Wed I hadn't changed I was 2cm dilated and 70% effaced. I was hoping to be changed more then that for being 38 weeks and 1 day, they did an ultrasound and my amnoitic fluid was normal for the stage I was at it was 10. Saturday came around the day before Easter and I went to work (work has me scheduled to work when I feel up to it since I've been in and out of the hospital) I worked most of my shift then I went home. (Going to be gross now) My discharge had been different lately its been more watery than muscus like. I would sit down for five minutes then have a wet spot behind. I knew the pressure of the baby was causing my bladder to leak so I didn't think much of it. Easter Sunday rolled around and my husband didn't like the fact that I was leaking so much so he made me call Labor and Delievery... Actually he called and spoke to the doctor because I was tired of calling and them telling me it was nothing and I knew this time it was nothing as well. I figured they would just tell me that the pressure of the baby is causing my bladder to leak. So I go to Labor and delievery they check my insides to see if my water had broke, that was a negative. They ordered an ultrasound. I waited around for the ultrasound guy to come and they measured my fluids, apparently my fluids were close to being dangerously low. So I wasn't going home. Around 1:00 AM April 12, I was put on pic. (short spelling) to start contractions. 6:30 AM they broke my water. Around 7:30 AM I got my epidurial. I was 4 cm shortly after that and stayed that way for a very long time. I was given a catherter which I felt and I shouldn't have. The epidural fell out. They replaced it shortly afterwards. I was checked by my doctor around five in the afternoon and I was 5 cm. It was a slow progress and she said if I didn't dilate more we would have to talk about a c-section. At 7:30 PM the doctor came back and I was dilated to 8 cm. I was so happy that I had progressed some more. They kept on asking me to tell them when I felt like I had to take a bowl movement. I had no idea why the wanted to know that. Then it hit me I told them I wanted to take a shit real badly an hour late. They brought the doctor in and she checked me I was a full 10 cm. She told me it was time to push like I was fat bastard having to shit. I dyed laughing. I pushed, and pushed... pushing some more. At one point I cried I couldn't handle it. The pain was so bad. After two hours of pushing (that is all they would let you go) I hadn't progressed any. They ordered something for the pain. It made me numb from my chest down and were ready to wheel me in for a c-section but turned me around. The woman across the hall's baby was in fetal distress she had to go in first. So I laid there and rested while waiting. I started to feel the contractions again, I started crying. They weren't even bad. I sent my husband out to find someone my nurse. He came back and said no one was in the hall. I cried and said go find someone I don't care who but someone. I didn't want to feel the pain again. Soon enough the nurse and the drug guy came in they shot me up with stuff that numbed me all the way down to my toes. I was wheeled into the operating room where they do the c-sections, they slipped a board under me and moved me over to the other bed, they slipped a sheet up so I couldn't see anything. my leg fell off the table it was so numb I couldn't lift it back up to put it on the table. They gave me oxygen and before long they were pulling the baby out. I got to see him and he was so cute.

It was scary and I'm still sore from it.